Good or Great?

TPG_GoodOrGreat

Think of your most prized, “worldly” possession or dream.  Whether it be a future career, or any other thing, would you give it up for Christs’ sake?

Do we ever just settle for the “good life” instead of the “great life” in our Christian walk? 

Sadly, people in this day in age have become satisfied with living a good life.  Well let me just say that I want a great life.  I want to live my life to it’s fullest– and that is by serving God.  As I am in my later teen years, I’m seeing so many people go into adulthood with their whole lives planned out, and it seems as if God is just in the background.  Sometimes we as humans have this thought: “I’ve got this, God.  You’ve taught me enough already.. just trust ME.”  As sad as this is, I am thankful to know of people who have given up their dreams to let God have His will.  I don’t want to get to the end of my life and think of all the things I could have improved, but didn’t because I was okay with “just okay”.  Jesus Christ tells us many times in the Bible of how we should die to ourselves and live for Him.

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

Galatians 2:20

And he said to [them] all, If any [man] will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me.

Luke 9:23

For whosoever will save his life shall lose it; but whosoever shall lose his life for my sake and the gospel’s, the same shall save it.

~Mark 8:35

Are you willing to die to yourself to live the life of fully serving Jesus Christ– the great life?

It excites me to see people who are sold out for Christ!  The ones who would take a step of faith, not knowing what tomorrow may hold for them, but still holding on strong to the fact that God is with them.  How about you?  Are you one of those people?

There are plenty of things we could talk about when it comes to being a good Christian.  Our appearance, the way we treat others, our walk with God, and all of those things.  But I want to really focus on being completely sold out for Christ.  Being willing to make a step of faith, trusting in God wholly.  Jesus died for us, so why aren’t we willing to live for Him?  He is our Creator– our Master.  He knows everything that has ever happened, and knows of all that is going to happen in the future.  So why is it so hard to trust someone so perfect?

Pride.

Rebellion. 

Just a couple of things that I just listed from the top of my head.  Rebellion is of the sin of witchcraft.  Pride goeth before destruction.  Those are some of the most common sins among teenagers, and even adults. He certainly isn’t the one with the problem, we are.

We all struggle with pride and rebellion.  I’m feeling pretty low as I type this out, thinking of how prideful I have been knowing that there is a perfect God in my life, and that there have been times when I did not want to let go of a silly possession to follow His will.  We’ve all been there, I’m sure.

As I close, I just want to say that even though we have all been in situations before where we have not made the right decision in our spiritual walk, there are still plenty of more challenges ahead for us to face with God.  Some things that we may have to let go might not be bad, but they may cause us to stumble along the way.  God loves us, and wants us to live the great life.  The choice is ours as individuals– go with God, or learn the hard way?

Did this challenge you?  Share, like, and comment. :]

Please Leave a Pleasant Comment:

