Slipping Standards

A quick post I put together on something that has been on my mind the last few days.  Read & share!

The world is in a constant slippery slope.  Year by year, day by day, standards are dropping everywhere.

What about Christians?  Shouldn’t we stand firm on the Solid Rock?  Shouldn’t we be unchanging just like our God?  This seems to be the picture:  As the world slips, we are right behind them.  God’s rules and commandments are unchanging.  His laws do not have expiration dates, and He does not make exceptions.  We need to stand firm as a stone, being set apart from the world.  How are we supposed to represent Christ– A solid foundation, unchanging, unending, firm– if we are constantly changing our standards and views?  Job 41:24a states “His heart is as firm as a stone…” shouldn’t we be “as firm as a stone”?  There is no possible way to reach this lost and dying world when we are acting just like they are.  We cannot be like Christ and present ourselves as the world presents themselves.  The thought of turning people away by our strong standards is ridiculous.  Here are a few thoughts from others about this principal:

“If I am afraid to speak the truth lest I lose affection, or lest the one concerned should say, “You do not understand”, or because I fear to lose my reputation for kindness; if I put my own good name before the other’s highest good, then I know nothing of Calvary love.” 

~ Amy Carmichael 

“For do I now persuade men, or God? or do I seek to please men? for if I yet pleased men, I should not be the servant of Christ.” 

~ Galatians 1:10 

Because it is written, Be ye holy; for I am holy.

~ 1 Peter 1:16 


We cannot be Christ-like and live worldly, it’s completely impossible.  Standards are meant to be set in stone and not moved.

Standard: n. 1. A level of quality.

Some might say “Their standards are too high.”  But I say How is it bad to be of high quality?  I thought high quality was a good thing.  So you’re telling me that having high quality is bad?  Hmm.. it just seems to me that people are just guilty of their wrong, don’t you?  Don’t we as humans get into an attitude to where we turn negative and critical of others when we are guilty just to make ourselves look good?  We have all done it at one time or another, I’m sure. SealRock1

Here are a few standards that have dropped in the world’s point of view, and God’s standards– standards that haven’t dropped:

WORLD’S PURITY – Nowadays “waiting” is when you don’t have sex on the first date.

GOD’S PURITY – “Waiting” is when you don’t have sex before marriage.

WORLD’S MANNERS – “Please” and “Thank You” are for sissies.

GOD’S MANNERS – Respecting others is an automatic, no matter how old or young.

WORLD’S DRESS – The more revealing, the better.

GOD’S DRESS – Modest {click here}

WORLD’S STANDARDS – Dropping.

GOD’S STANDARDS – Standing firm.

So let’s decide for ourselves– who’s standards line up with ours?  Who are we trying to please?  What are we trying to measure up to?

Are we going to take up our cross and walk the narrow path, or are we going to continue to let our standards slip away until there is little to no hope left for the future generations?  What about the future?  What about now?  

What are we doing to make a statement? 

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

When darkness veils His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace;
In every high and stormy gale,

My anchor holds within the veil.

On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand;
All other ground is sinking sand,
All other ground is sinking sand.

 

2 thoughts on “Slipping Standards

  1. this really spoke to me. as i am having to deal with struggles and lots of ‘bumps in the road’ in a situation i am having to deal with. thanks for posting :)

  2. Pingback: True Friends | The Proverbs Girl

Please Leave a Pleasant Comment:

