The One About Modesty

Modesty: n. 1. regard for decency of behavior, speech, dress, etc. 2. lack of vanity.

Yep, most of you have probably already shut your brain off because of the title of this post– Besides, who likes talking about rules anyway?  I can’t lie, sometimes I felt a little guilty myself while typing this.  Nobody likes it, but rules are everywhere.  School, home, work, church, and– believe it or not– Walmart.  There are guidelines everywhere we go, and no one can avoid them without facing consequences.  No matter how old you are, there will always be rules to abide by.

Just like there are rules in the places I mentioned above, God also has a rule-book He expects His children to obey.  I know, I know.. “We should care mostly about what’s on the inside”, but the bottom line is that whatever is on the inside will show itself on the outside sooner or later.  We always hear the quote “Don’t judge a book by it’s cover” but let’s be honest– The cover says a lot about the book.  If I see a half-naked person on the cover of a book, I will assume that the book is trashy.  If I see a dog on the cover of a book, I will assume that it’s got something to do with a dog.  If it looks like a duck, then it’s probably a duck.  It’s not only human nature, but common sense.  It’s understandable that God does care mostly about what we are like on the inside, but like I said before, what is on the inside shows on the outside– We can’t hide it forever.  It’s no secret that you can easily determine what kind of music an individual listens to by just looking at their attire.  Some even say that you can determine one’s attitude by their haircut.  What you wear determines who you are.  

In like manner also, that women adorn themselves in modest apparel

~ 1 Timothy 2:9a 

Favour [is] deceitful, and beauty [is] vain: [but] a woman [that] feareth the LORD, she shall be praised.

~ Proverbs 31:30

The definition for modesty that I quoted at the very beginning of this post states that modesty shows regard for decency, and that it lacks vanity.  I don’t know of many Christians who want to be indecent or vain.  The verse above {Proverbs 31:30} says, in other words, that beauty is vain, BUT a woman that fears God is to be praised.  I’m not trying to “stretch the scriptures” here, but I highly doubt a woman that fears the Lord is vain.  Which means that I am persuaded to believe that a woman who fears the Lord is modest.  Modesty

But I say unto you, That whosoever looketh on a woman to lust after her hath committed adultery with her already in his heart

~ Matthew 5:28

{FACT: Guys respond to 80% of what they see, while girls respond to 80% of what they hear.}

If this doesn’t freak us out, I don’t know what will.  You see, I always looked at the verse above and thought “Ha!  Those perverts better watch themselves.”   But believe it or not, all men aren’t pigs.  Not all of them go out of their way to try and make every girl feel extremely uncomfortable.  What this verse is trying to get across to us is that if we dress provocatively to where guys have the wrong idea in their mind– We’re also in the wrong.  So while you are dressing immodestly to try and get a message across to your crush, you just committed adultery with the ugly pervert you just accused of being gross.  We can’t dress the wrong way and expect everybody to be okay with it.  The way we dress will either demand respect, or invite disrespect.  Even missionaries in third-world countries say that once an individual gets saved, one of the first things they do is put on some clothes.  Not only is being half-naked part of these people’s culture, but they may have been full of devils:  In the Bible, we hear about the man of Gadara– a complete maniac– he was full of devils.  After Jesus healed the man, people were shocked to find that he was clothed and in his right mind {Luke 8:35}.

If you’re reading this right now, then that means that you have probably read this entire post {thanks:)}.  Do a self-check:

Do I dress modestly?

If so, Why do I dress modestly?

Who do I dress for?  

I hope this post was just as much a help to you as it was for me as I did research for definitions, illustrations, verses, etc.  Have a nice day and don’t forget to like and share! :)

4 thoughts on “The One About Modesty

  1. Pingback: This Post was Recommended By Coffee & Conversation

  2. Pingback: Slipping Standards | The Proverbs Girl

  3. i really loved this. it helps me realize that i am doing what i do to please The Lord. :) thanks for posting

Please Leave a Pleasant Comment:

